It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

It’s that time of the year. Holidays! I like to celebrate all holidays of this great season, aka Christmakwanzakah. I will admit that I was raised Catholic so I’m a bit partial to Christmas, though.

This weekend I ushered in the holidays the best way I know how. The Nutcracker! Some friends and I went to the Opera House to watch the Boston Ballet’s version, which has received some great reviews.  And I must agree, it was great.  It’s a bit different from New York City Ballet’s version but wonderful, nonetheless.  Boston’s piece is targeted to families and is a bit more silly and funny while still delivering impeccable ballet sequences.

Lasha Khozashvili and Lia Cirio in rehearsal for The Nutcracker by Rosalie O’Connor via footnotes.Growing up in Queens, I went to a performance of The Nutcracker every year.  After moving, I made sure to watch on TV.  It was simply not the holidays without watching this incredible ballet.  However, I’ve recently realized that not everyone has seen the performance or even knows the story. Well, if you are one of those people I have great news.  Boston Ballet has the full plot.  So check it out.

I wish I could have taken pictures of the performance.  Alas, it was not allowed.  As such, this video will have to suffice.


Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

